Sleep is good, she said, but books are better.

image

Sleep is good, she said, but books are better.

They had changed her, they had stuck with her during her worst storms, they had comforted her, she turned to them when she needed a friend, she hugged them close when she needed a lover. She loved their smell, she loved their feel. They never lied to her, and she knows that they never will. She does’nt exactly remember how many she has read, but she does know her each and every favorite quote or line by heart. She wants to spend her life folded between the pages of books. They had taught her how to be humble and yet, walk with an air of superiority.

Her soul was imprinted by them. She lived behind the walls created by her books where no one could attack her. She fell in love with the fictional characters, they were as close to her as any human or even more so. She was in love with each hero, right from Mr. Darcy to Mr. Grey. She still turned to Harry potter when she needed a little magic and the Twilight saga always let her fall into its arms when she wanted to be loved. Walden gave her the most precious lessons of life, it taught her that things don’t change we do. Susanna Kaysen made her question everything.Laurie Halse Anderson taught her that the real question is always, why not? The Hunger Games taught her that everyone is their own person and only you can help yourself.

Why? You want to know why?       Step into a tanning booth and fry yourself for two or three days. After your skin bubbles and peels off, roll in coarse salt, then pull on long underwear woven from spun glass and razor wire. Over that goes your regular clothes, as long as they are tight.       Smoke gunpowder and go to school to jump through hoops, sit up and beg, and roll over on command. Listen to the whispers that curl into your head at night, calling you ugly and fat and stupid and bitch and whore and worst of all “a disappointment.” Puke and starve and cut and drink because you don’t want to feel any of this. Puke and starve and cut and drink because you need an anesthetic and it works. For a while. But then the anesthetic turns into poison and by then it’s too late because you are mainlining it now, straight into your soul. It is rotting you and you can’t stop.Look in a mirror and find a ghost. Hear every heartbeat scream that everysinglething is wrong with you.       “Why?” is the wrong question.       Ask “Why not?”- Laurie Halse Anderson, Wintergirls.

Then came the Fifty Shades which, ofcourse, changed her. Sylvia Day, EL James, Tracy wolff, Anna Zaires, Maya Banks, Christina Lauren…  and so many more taught her that it is OKAY to have wild fantasies. Infact its a good thing and sometimes those fantasies even come true. They all had created  such lush, evocative, inventive moments that the pages should have been on fire!

“Are you thirsty, Anastasia?” he asks, his voice teasing

“Yes,” I breathe, because my mouth is suddenly parched. I hear the ice clink against

the glass, and he puts it down again and leans down and kisses me, pouring a delicious

crisp, liquid into my mouth as he does. It’s white wine. It’s so unexpected, hot, though it’s

chilled, and Christian’s lips are cool.

“More?” he whispers.

I nod. It tastes all the more divine because it’s been in his mouth. He leans down, and

I drink another mouthful from his lips… oh my.

“Let’s not go too far, we know your capacity for alcohol is limited, Anastasia.”

I can’t help it. I grin, and he leans down to deliver another delicious mouthful. He

shifts so he’s lying beside me, his erection at my hip. Oh, I want him inside me.

“Is this nice?” he asks, but I hear the edge in his voice.

I tense. He moves the glass again and leans down, kissing me and depositing a small

shard of ice in my mouth with a little wine. He slowly and leisurely trails chilled kisses

down the center of my body, from the base of my throat, between my breasts, down my

torso, and to my belly. He pops a fragment of ice in my navel in a pool of cool, cold wine.

It burns all the way down to the depths of my belly. Wow.

“Now you have to keep still,” he whispers. “If you move, Anastasia, you’ll get wine

all over the bed.”

My hips flex automatically.

“Oh no. If you spill the wine, I will punish you, Miss Steele.”- EL James, Fifty shades of grey.

While others scoff at her obsession with books she continues to be as attached to them as she was at the age of seven. Now, it was late, very late it was 3 am Her eyes were growing heavier now, sleep slowly casting its spell but she did’nt want to keep it down she wanted to complete it. It was just so good. Sleep is good, she said, but books are better.

18 thoughts on “Sleep is good, she said, but books are better.

Add yours

      1. oh ojaswin, i look into your eyes, only to never look back, for oh how beautiful do you seem to be? call you sunset love, for you’re the ocean to my sky! oh twinkle love, so i’d sing poetry to you, like i never have. you’re a ballad, i’d write everytime, you smile for oh my love, it’d be exquisite! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. also love, i read your latest! and it was sensual and romantic! you do seem quite romantic!

        Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑